Executive Committee

Councillor Doug McMurdo


Doug is Chair of the Local Authority Pension Fund Forum and a member of the Bedfordshire Pension Fund. He is also the Ward Councillor for Sharnbrook Ward representing six rural communities in north Bedfordshire.

Councillor Rob Chapman


Rob is Chair of LB Hackney Pension Committee. He has previously held positions as Chair of Hackney’s Governance and Resources Scrutiny Commission and as its Chief Whip. Hackney’s representative on the London Collective Investment Vehicle (CIV) Sectoral Committee since 2014, he now sits on the CIV Shareholder’s Committee.

Councillor John Gray


Cllr Gray has represented West Ham ward in Newham, East London, since 2010. He is the Cabinet Lead for Housing Services and the Deputy Mayor (Statutory). He is a member of the Newham Pension Committee, a Trade Union appointed member of the Tower Hamlets Pension Board and a Trustee of the UNISON Staff Pension Scheme (and Chair of its Investment sub-committee).  His background is in front line Social Housing management.

Councillor Yvonne Johnson


Yvonne is the chair of the Shareholder committee of the LCIV. Cabinet member in Ealing for Schools and Children’s services and deputy leader of the council. Member of the Scheme Advisory Board where she chairs the Investment governance and engagement committee.

Mr Rodney Barton


Rodney is Director of the West Yorkshire Pension Fund, and was elected to the LAPFF Executive Committee in 2011. He qualified as a Chartered Accountant and subsequently worked for a large accountancy firm and Merseyside Pension Fund.

Councillor Glyn Caron


Glyn is the chair of the Greater Gwent (Torfaen) Pension Fund. He is also a member of the Welsh Pension Partnership Joint Governance Committee.

Councillor Eddie Pope


Eddie is a Lancashire County Councillor representing three rural parishes in West Lancashire. He is an Accountant having worked in the NHS and Higher Education and is Chairman of the Lancashire County Council Pension Fund.

Rachel Brothwood


Rachel Brothwood is Director of Pensions at the West Midlands Pension Fund and has been appointed as Hon Treasurer for LAPFF.  A qualified Actuary, Rachel joined the WMPF in 2015 having previously worked with a wide range of organisations, advising on risk management in pension scheme funding and investment.

Tom Harrington


Tom is the Assistant Director (Investments) of the Greater Manchester Pension Fund, the largest LGPS fund in the UK. GMPF is administered by Tameside MBC, where Tom began his career as a trainee accountant.

Abigail Leech


Abigail has been the Head of Lancashire County Pension Fund since November 2015, she is also the interim S151 officer for the London Pension Fund Authority (LPFA).  Abigail originally joined Lancashire County Council in 2009 as the Financial Controller for the Fund before becoming the Head of Corporate Finance in 2012.

Helen Price


Helen leads on stewardship at Brunel Pension Partnership (Brunel). She is passionate about the role of pension funds in moving to a more sustainable business world and is involved in numerous initiatives to improve standards in responsible investment. Helen draws on knowledge built from her BA (honours) in Business Studies.

Councillor Andrew Thornton


Andrew is Chair of West Yorkshire Pension Fund and a member of Bradford Council. He represents the Royds ward.

John Anzani


John was appointed as the Member Representative on the Pension Committee of Lothian Pension Fund in December 2013 and has been successively re-appointed every two years.  Since May 2017 he has been a member of the Audit Committee.  He worked for Midlothian Council providing direct HR support to small businesses.

Councillor Ged Cooney


Gerald is Vice Deputy of Greater Manchester Pension Fund, Chair of the Northern LGPS Fund and a member of Tameside Council. In Tameside he represents the Droylsden West Ward and is also Executive Member for Economic Growth, Employment and Housing.

Councillor M. Tauqeer Malik


Malik has been the Councillor for Aberdeen City since 2012. He is deputy leader of the Labour party for Aberdeen City council. He is the Convener of the North East of Scotland Pension Committee. He holds positions as the vice convener of education delivery and licensing committee as well as being deputy Business Manager for Aberdeen City Council.

Councillor Jill Whitehead


Cllr Jill Whitehead is Chair of Sutton Pensions Committee, and a member of London CIV Shareholder Committee.  Jill was elected in 2010, and for six years was portfolio holder for the Environment, as well as the VC of London Councils Transport & Environment Committee. Jill used to work for CIPFA.